Dean Baquet to Receive 2017 Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award

Dean Baquet will receive the award in November at Mitten Hall.

Executive editor of The New York Times, Dean Baquet, will become the 17th recipient of the Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award this fall.

Baquet will receive the honor at a ceremony annually hosted by Temple’s Klein College of Media and Communication. The ceremonies honor distinguished alumni and media figures, as well as raise funds for student scholarships.

Other recipients of the Excellence in the Media Award include Tina Fey, Robin Roberts, Matt Lauer, Anderson Cooper, Whoopi Goldberg, and Wolf Blitzer.

Baquet, who is a Pulitzer Prize winner, has spent almost 40 years in journalism. He began working at The New York Times in 1990, for which he has also served as the Washington bureau chief and managing editor. In 2014, he became the newspaper’s top editor, which also marked the first time an African-American held the title.

“At a time when the essential role of the press – and, in particular, of The New York Times – has never been clearer, it is our privilege to honor Dean Baquet,” said David Boardman, Dean of Klein College. “He is one of the nation’s greatest journalists, and leaders.”

In addition to the award ceremony, Baquet will hold a “Conversation with Students,” where he will answer questions and give advice to Temple students.

The Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards ceremony will be held on November 10th at Mitten Hall, where seven Klein College alumni will also be honored for their professional achievements. The proceeds from the event directly benefit the Lew Klein Scholarship Fund.

More information can be found at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.