Lew Klein Awards Honor NYT’s Dean Baquet

Executive editor of The New York Times, Dean Baquet, received the Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award for 2017.

Dean Baquet receives the Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award. Friday, November 10, 2017.

In a ceremony that took place at Mitten Hall’s Great Court, Klein College’s Dean Boardman said about Dean Baquet, “In the 17 years that we have had this event, we have recognized many giants of the media world. From Ed Bradley to Anderson Cooper, to Whoopi Goldberg, to Tina Fey. I am confident that no one we have honored has had as much impact, on our nation and on our world, as today’s honoree.”

The Lew Klein College of Media and Communication honored seven more for their exceptional work, six distinguished media professionals–two of them worked for Temple Update in the past–and one rising star of the media industry.

Rising star went to:

  • Julia Nietsch: Senior Director of Communications, Bravo and Oxygen Media
Lew Klein attends the Awards for the first time after the official renaming of the college. Friday, November 10, 2017.

Lew Klein talked to Temple Update and expressed his gratitude for the people that came to the event.

He said, “I think it (the event) is wonderful. Each year, and this is the 17th year, we have approximately 400 people who come to the luncheon. So, we are delighted with the crowd that comes every year.”

David Murphy, 6 ABC’s Meteorologist and past recipient of the Lew Klein Award. Friday, November 17, 2017.

Furthermore, David Murphy, 6ABC’s Meteorologist and past recipient of the Lew Klein Award, had some important advice for Temple students and future journalists.

“Well I would say practice your writing,” said Murphy. “Write, write, write, because it is really all about that. I am a meteorologist now, but I started as a reporter and did some anchoring. And that is what really got me in the door and what got me noticed a little better than the average person.”

Dean Baquet also spoke to Temple students for an hour in a Q&A forum at the Temple Performing Arts Center, before accepting the 2017 Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.