Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards 2019


It always feels good to fly home, as former owls came back to the nest to celebrate the school’s biggest honor. The Lew Klein Alumni in the Media Awards.

The awards were created by the generosity of H.F. (Gerry) and Marguerite Lenfest and Walter and Leonore Annenberg through the Annenberg Foundation to celebrate impressive and outstanding members of the media.

During the Awards six Klein College Alumni were honored for their achievements. Including this year’s honorees, 19 distinguished media professionals have been selected as Excellence in the Media honorees, and 135 alumni have joined the college’s Hall of Fame.

This year’s alumni include:

Julie K. Brown, KLN ’87 – Investigative Journalist, Miami Herald 

Murray Dubin, KLN ’69 – Author and Retired Journalist, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Mel Greenberg, KLN ’69 – “the guru” of women’s basketball, retired sports journalist, The Philadelphia Inquirer

Michelle Rice, KLN ’88 – General Manager, TV One

John Zissimos, KLN ’88 – Vice President of Brand, Creative and Media, Google

Rising Star: Kyle Hall, KLN ’08 – Temple Update ’04-’08 currently Photographer and Editor, CBS Philadelphia

This year marks the seventh time the college honors a “Rising Star” to showcase the achievements of its young alumni.

This year the rising star award winner was a former Temple Updater, 2008 graduate Kyle Hall.

“I remember shooting interviews for the honorees when I was at Temple and I just remember seeing how far across the country Temple’s influence has reached,” explained Hall.

This was the First Lew Klein awards since the passing of the colleges namesake Lew Klein. Klein was honored at the awards and represented by his wife Janet.

Temple University President Richard Englert honored Lew Klein in his speech.

“Temple students like to say that they are Temple made and Temple proud. Klein College students can add to that. They can say that they are also Lew Klein made and Lew Klein proud,” said Englert.

CNN Anchor and Chief Washington Correspondent Jake Tapper was this years Lew Klein Excellence in the Media Award recipient. Jake talked with us about the importance of the event.

It’s an honor and more importantly this is an event in order to raise money, scholarship money for students here and that’s what it’s really all about. I am honored that I get to play a role in helping to do that,” explained Tapper.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.